top of page

Time, you thief

A friend once said to me, you have no idea how fast time flies until you have kids, and I honestly could not agree more.

As I’m sitting in my kitchen listening to the sounds of the dishwasher making my life easier by crossing off one of the many chores we moms do every day I can’t help but think back to when I first held little baby August. I can still remember the thoughts going through my mind, “gosh you are so tiny, so dependent on me how the actual eff am I going to do this?” it a scary but magical thing, becoming a parent not going to lie to you, to love so fiercely it actually hurts.

That same little baby dude turned three last month and yet I can still remember where I was, what I was eating, and what I was watching when I felt my first contraction, almost like it happened yesterday. Time is a thief that comes in the night turns your first born into toddlers, into teenagers, into young adults, in to parents. Before you could even utter the words “stay my baby forever”.

My baby girl, my new born, is almost 7 months old, and all I can think is “how did this happen?”

How are you crawling already??

Was I asleep?

Where did the past 7 months go?

It is an absolutely beautiful thing to see your kids grow up and at the same time heartbreaking.

To my pregnant friends I say, “girl I feel you, I know you are tired AF, sick of getting up at all hours of the morning to pee, begging your gynnae to induce you because 40 weeks + 1 day is just enough to make you completely GATVOL , cherish those moments, laugh at the fact that your jeans button just gave up and popped.

And Cherish the moments with your babes, they honestly grow up way too fast. Don’t fret about the little things. Take in that newborn baby smell, feel your emotions and grasp the entirety of your situation. You are a mom, a parent, an idol, literally the whole world to that sweet little angel sleeping in your arms, sucking you dry

Don’t get caught up in the Nitti gritty of everyday admin, like how relaxed you feel listening to the sound of the dishwasher doing your job for you, you’re going to have to get up to unpack it anyway.

but most importantly always love them fiercely.

xxx

bottom of page