top of page

When local is Not lekker

What do you do when local is not so lekker?

I have no problem spending the extra 100 on quality local products and I don’t mind adding another 100 to courier fees, but dammit guys, if the product I’m getting is falling apart a couple of days after receiving it what am I supposed to do?

Seriously?

Now this is not true for all brands that I have purchased from, but 60% of my purchases has either fallen a part or faded.

How sad is that? Needless to say I took to Instagram to figure out if this is just me and I if I just have a serious case of bad luck or is this happening to other local supporters as well?

Sad to say, I’m not the only one.

Don’t believe me?

a local influencer contacted me about a product she was gifted with from a local brand, she loved it so much that she decided to support them buy continuously buying their products and commend them on their excellent service and of course posting about it online. Unfortunately she has received emails from a couple of followers exclaiming the exact opposite; they have ordered online paid and still have not received their products, a whole month later…

Another local mom contacted me about a brand she bought clothes from that’s falling apart after one wash. ONE FREAKING WASH. She has decided to rather stick to store bought items

My personal experience is this, I have bought certain clothing items from a local company where every single item has fallen apart. I have also asked for replacement on a product that broke after a week and the exact same thing happened again. I have contacted a brand about a problem I’m having and they have still not come back to me.

I am not making this shit up and I’m not the only one that’s having conversations about this topic, I am also not talking about every single local brand out there

I have received some excellent service and excellent products and they know who they are, but if you’re a brand and you have had some people complain about your product please rectify it. not only are you hurting your own business in the process, but you are discouraging consumers from buying from any local company, and you are also discrediting our influencers word and making their work a lot harder.

My point is this

At the moment I feel like I need to be a social media influencer to receive top notch service from local brand, and that is absolute BULL SHIT.

If you’re an SME and you’re making use of influencers I’m sure that you’re giving them great service, but the clients that they generate should be given excellent service.

That’s it

bottom of page